Janata Shikshana Samiti was established by the Late Sri. R. S. Hukkerikarji in 1944, with a noble determination to propagate value and need based education. Since from its inception, the Institution has been striving with utmost dedication to fulfil the requirements of primary, secondary and tertiary education. Today the Institution, popularly known as J.S.S. has become a premier educational hub of North Karnataka region. This institution has been progressed by leaps and bounds under the guidance & commitment of the Late His Holiness, Shri Shri Vishweshateertha Swamiji of Pejawarmath, Udupi, as the President, His Holiness Dr. D. Veerendra Heggadeji, Dharmadhikari of Dharmasthala as the Chairman, Dr. N.Vajrakumar as the Secretary and Dr. Ajith Prasad as Finance officer. The JSS campus, with 22 educational Institutions and more than 21600 students is always flourished with curricular and extra- curricular activities.

Janata Shikshana Samiti, a pioneer in Education, has had its humble beginning ever since 1944, with the establishment of JSS institution by K.E. Boards College. First principal- Dr. B. M. Sreekanthaiah, well known litterateur called "Kannadad Kanv". Independently originated with the initiation of Late Shri. R. S. Hukkerikar, the veteran freedom fighter. The institution named as Janata Shikshana Samiti in the year 1952 and soon it was named as JSS College. Other offshoots like Sakri Law College, Economic Research, Population Research Centre, etc., were jewels in the crown of JSS. Afterwards, PUC Arts was granted with the permission of PU Board in the year 1968-69. Later a two years PU Science course was begun in the year 1971-72 and Commerce wing was added in 1976-77. Due to the financial crunch the administration of JSS was taken over by Poojya Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade Dharmadhikari(Pontiff), of Shri Kshetra Dharmasthala on 18th October 1973 with the divine blessings of Poojya Sri Sri Vishweshateertha Swamiji of Pejavarmath, Udupi.

JSS Institution is situated in a picturesque surroundings on the top of the Mailarlingana Gudda (Hill), now called Vidyagiri, at a height of 2511 feet above the sea level, at the outskirts of Dharwad, on Pune-Bangalore Highway. It is ideally located at a vantage point to meet the requirements of students' community. The panoramic view of the Lord Mailarlingeshwar, at the top of Vidyagiri, provides a great sight of overall surroundings of Dharwad city.

The management, besides academic courses, has the following facilities like forty quarters for its employees, two boys' hostels, two ladies' hostels, working women's hostels,various types of Sports, bank branches, the post office, a well equipped library to drive all and sundry towards excellence.

The institution has an expansive playground which beckons the gymnasts, athletes and sports lovers to fulfill their extra-curricular activities. An amphitheatre also there in the college to fulfill aesthetic needs like dance, music, drama..etc

After taking over the management of Janata Shikshana Samiti on 18th October, 1973 by Pujya Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade, Dharmadhikari, of Shri Kshetra Dharmasthala from the pious hands of Pujya Vishweshateertha Sripadangalavaru of Pejavarmath, Udupi (South Canara), the new management introduced a two year Pre-University Course in Arts, Science and Commerce along with Job oriented Diploma, B.Com, B.Sc. (Electronics), B.Sc & B.A.Courses with new additional subject combinations, Bachelor of Business Administration, Bachelor of Computer Applications, M.Sc in Computer Science, B.Sc, with Bio-Technology, and B.Sc. with Micro-Biology etc. which established from 1975 to 2006 respectively. These disciplines have added feathers in the cap of glorious JSS.

The College is permanently affiliated to Karnatak University and fulfills the requirements of the students who opt for various humanities and disciplines like B.A, B.com, B.Sc with Kannada, Sanskrit, English, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, History Geography, Hindi, Education, Financial Accountancy, Company Sectratary, Accounts, Chemistry, Physics, Botany, Zoology, Statistics, Electronics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Bio-Technology and Microbiology as optional subjects. The college has professional courses like BBA, BCA, B.Sc. (CS), M.A(English), M.Com, M.Sc. in computer Science, Physics and Chemistry.